A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in darbhanga

Administration in Darbhanga

Darbhanga the ‘Cultural Capital of Bihar’ and ‘Heart of Mithilanchal’ is administrative headquarters of Darbhanga district. Once a part of Sarkar Tirhut it was constituted as a separate district on 1st January, 1875 having three sub divisions namely Darbhanga, Madhubani and Samastipur. In early times, Darbhanga was part of Patna division until separation of Tirhut division in 1908. Later, it got status of Divisional Headquarter when all its three sub divisions were declared separate districts on 30th October, 1973.

Administration in Darbhanga

Darbhanga Municipal Corporation (Darbhanga Nagar Nigam)

Darbhanga city is governed by Darbhanga Municipal Corporation (Darbhanga Nagar Nigam). Darbhanga Nagar Nigam was established in 23 August, 1982 as per Act vide S.O. 1280. It has been spread across 19.18 sq km and consists of 48 administrative wards. It manages fiscal resources and provides various community services in the city. It ensures proper sanitation, health care services, education and infrastructure, revenue generation, power supply and water supply in the city. Darbhanga Nagam Nigam takes care of proper development of the city by managing all resources as well as it keeps records of birth and death in the city. It also provides facility of online tax payment for tax payers.

Role and Responsibilities of Darbhanga Municipal Corporation (DMC)
  • Ensuring proper sanitation of the city
  • Providing proper health care services in the city
  • Proper management of fiscal resources
  • Providing facility of online tax payment
  • Education & infrastructure development
  • Construction and maintenance of roads in the city
  • Ensuring water supply and power supply
Darbhanga Municipal Corporation
Darbhanga, Bihar - 846 994
Help Line No.: 0612 309 5555
E-Mail: complaint@nagarsewa.in

Municipal Commissioner
Mobile: 09470488936

Civil Administration in Darbhanga

Civic Administration in Darbhanga
Darbhanga district is under administrative supervision of District Magistrate (Deputy Commissioner) who looks after overall administration of this district. Deputy Commissioner is assisted by different other administrative sub-ordinates such as Additional deputy commissioner, Assistant commissioner, Executive magistrate, District revenue officer and such other officials belonging to various government departments in the district. Police administration, jail administration, health administration, excise affairs administration and such many other departments work under administrative supervision of Deputy Commissioner. { For administrative updates on Darbhanga click here }

Commissioner, Darbhanga

Office: 06272-245088
Resi: 06272-245356
FAX: 06272-245357
Email- Id: commissionerdbg@gmail.com

District Magistrate (Deputy Commissioner), Darbhanga
Mobile: 09473191317
Office: 06272-240200
FAX: 06272-240400
Email- Id: dm-darbhanga.bih@nic.in

Deputy Development Commissioner (DDC)
Office: 245203
Res: 245967
Mobile: 9431818365
Email- Id: ddc-darbhanga.bih@nic.in

Additional Collector (ADC)
Office: 245385
Res: 245386
Mobile: 9473191318
Email- Id: adm.darbhanga@gmail.com

Police Department in Darbhanga

Darbhanga District Police ensures safety and security of the residents in this district. Police Department in Darbhanga is responsible to maintain law and order and control crime in the district. It not only guards against criminal and extremist activities but also works to establish peace and harmony in the society. There are good number of police stations in Darbhanga that helps in controlling any critical situation. Police department in Darbhanga has been actively involved in community policing for encouraging police-public cooperation and to maintain good relations with residents of the region. There are 23 police stations in entire Darbhanga district.

Inspector General (I.G.), Darbhanga
Office: 06272-245384
Fax: 06272-245576
Mobile: 09431822952

Deputy Inspector General (D.I.G.), Darbhanga
Office: 06272-245389
Fax: 06272-245358
Mobile: 09431822957

Senior Superintendent of Police (S.S.P.), Darbhanga
Office: 06272-245382
Fax: 06272-245206
Mobile: 09431822992

Judiciary in Darbhanga

Patna High Court looks after overall jurisdiction of Darbhanga district. Apart from that Darbhanga also has its own separate judgeship which was created in 1898 by carving out of Muzaffarpur Judgeship. At that time, Darbhaga district judgeship was comprised of civil courts of Samastipur and Madhubani both and District Judge’s seat was established at Darbhanga. Thereafter, Samastipur and Madhubani were declared separate district in 1977 and 1978 respectively. Then separate judgeship for both of these newly formed districts were constituted at Samstipur on 14th October, 1977 and at Madhubani on 8th April, 1978 respectively.

Judiciary in Darbhanga

Darbhanga judgeship was then comprised of new sub divisional courts, first one at Benipur on 16th December, 1989 having Shri Surya Narayan Mahto as S.D.J.M. and second was established at Biraul sub-division at Benipur on 6th August, 1994 having Bijendra Kumar Singh as first Munsif. Later, District and Sessions Judge Court was established in 1905 at Laheriasarai in Darbhanga. Mr. S.S. Skinner, I.C.S. was then District & Sessions Judge of Darbhanga. Besides, Darbhanga has civil court and family court as well. Darbhanga Judgeship also boasts of being the first judgeship of Bihar state having its own infrastructure. There is one Juvenile Justice Board also present in Darbhanga which looks after juvenile cases in the district.

Patna High Court
Bailey Road, Patna: 800001
Bihar, India

Darbhanga District Court
Laheriasarai, Darbhanga

Judicial Officers of Darbhanga

Mr. Ram Shreshtha Roy
District & Sessions Judge, Darbhanga

Mr. Gangotri Ram Tripathi
Principal Judge, Family Court, Darbhanga

Sri Narendra Prasad
S.D.J.M, The Juvenile Justice Board, Darbhanga

Public Representatives in Darbhanga

Darbhanga district consists of one Lok Sabha constituency, Darbhanga (14) and 6 legislative assemblies (Vidhan Sabha constituencies) viz. Gaura Bauram (79), Benipur (80), Alinagar (81), Darbhanga Rural (82), Darbhanga (83) and Bahdurpur (85). Darbhanga district comprises three civil sub divisions namely Darbhanga Sadar, Benipur and Biraul. It has 18 blocks viz. Darbhanga, Alinagar, Jale, Benipur, Bahadurpur, Keoti, Singhwara, Manigachhi, Tardih (newly formed and divided from Manigachhi block), Hanuman Nagar, Baheri, Hayaghat, Biraul, Gaura Bauram, Ghanshyampur, Kiratpur, Kusheswarasthan and Kusheswarasthan East. There are 329 panchayats, 1269 villages and 23 police stations in Darbhanga district. Darbhanga also has a municipal corporation which is called Darbhanga Municipal Corporation or Darbhanga Nagar Nigam and comprises 48 wards in urban area of this district.

Member of Parliament (MP) in Darbhanga

Name of Member: Shri Kirti Azad
Party Affiliation: Bharatiya Janta Party
Parliamentary Constituency: Darbhanga (14)
Phone: 23073234, 23782645
Mobile: 09431219001, 09810532780

You may also like to visit

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries